Art centre open 10:00-18:00
Restaurant open 09:30-23:00
Marrakech, Morocco

Serpent

Musée Yves Saint Laurent

From July 21st, 2023, to January 28th, 2024, the Musée Yves Saint Laurent in Marrakech presented the exhibition SERPENT, commissioned by Bérengère Primat and Georges Petitjean. The exhibition is based on works from the Collection Bérengère Primat, in which the snake plays a key role.

More info
Milano, Italy

Rainbow

Mudec | Museo Delle Culture

For the exhibition RAINBOW, presenting the rainbow as a natural, cultural, spiritual and human phenomenon at the MUDEC – Museo delle Culture, Fondation Opale loaned the work Rainbow Serpent (1995) by John Mawurndjul. The exhibition ran from February to July 2023.

More info
Milano, Italy

Mirdidingkingathi Juwarnda Sally Gabori

Triennale Milano

Fondation Cartier pour l’art contemporain dedicated an exhibition to artist Mirdidingkingathi Juwarnda Sally Gabori, from July to November 2022. This exhibition was then presented at the Triennale Milano, from February to May 2023. Fondation Opale loaned two works: Nyinyilki, 2010, and Dibirdibi Country (2010), from the Collection Bérengère Primat.

More info
Paris, France

Mirdidingkingathi Juwarnda Sally Gabori

Fondation Cartier pour l’art contemporain

Fondation Cartier pour l’art contemporain dedicated an exhibition to artist Mirdidingkingathi Juwarnda Sally Gabori, from July to November 2022. This exhibition was then presented at the Triennale Milano, from February to May 2023. Fondation Opale loaned two works: Nyinyilki, 2010, and Dibirdibi Country (2010), from the Collection Bérengère Primat.

More info
Paris, France

Reclaim the Earth

Palais de Tokyo

Fondation Opale partnered with Palais de Tokyo for the collective exhibition entitled RECLAIM THE EARTH, presented from April 15th to September 4th, 2022. This exhibition was dedicated to a selection of international Indigenous artists who work differently with so-called “natural” matter.

More info
Bruxelles, Belgium

Before Time Began

Royal Museums of Art and History

The first exhibition of contemporary Aboriginal art presented at Fondation Opale from June 2019 to March 2020, BEFORE TIME BEGAN, has been shown in the Royal Museums of Art and History of Belgium from October 22th, 2021 until May 29th, 2022

More info
Bilbao, Spain

Women in abstraction

Guggenheim Museum

Fondation Opale loaned a monumental collective work to the Centre Pompidou in Paris in May 2021 for the exhibition WOMEN IN ABSTRACTION / ELLES FONT L’ABSTRACTION, which was held from May 19th to August 23th, 2021. It was then shown at the Guggenheim Museum in Bilbao from October 22nd, 2021 to February 27th, 2022

More info
Paris, France

Women in abstraction

Centre Pompidou

Fondation Opale loaned a monumental collective work to the Centre Pompidou in Paris in May 2021 for the exhibition WOMEN IN ABSTRACTION / ELLES FONT L’ABSTRACTION, which was held from May 19th to August 23th, 2021. It was then shown at the Guggenheim Museum in Bilbao from October 22nd, 2021 to February 27th, 2022

More info
Le Havre, France

Australia le Havre

Muséum du Havre

In May 2021, Fondation Opale loaned four works in GhostNets to the Muséum du Havre in Normandy for the exhibition AUSTRALIA LE HAVRE – L’intimité d’un lien, from June 5th to November 7th, 2021.

More info
Sion, Switzerland

Destination collection

Musées cantonaux du Valais
For the exhibition DESTINATION COLLECTION presented at the cantonal museums of Valais from June 20th, 2020 to May 30th, 2021, Fondation Opale has loaned several works: five shields, one coming from central Australia and the other four from the Pintupi Luritja language area, accompanied by the comments of our Chair Bérengère Primat, as well as the painting by the Aboriginal artist Maringka Baker Ngura Mankurpa/Places three and an artwork from Paddy Fordham Wainburranga entitled Balangjangalang spirit figure.
More info
Sydney, Australia

Nirin

Biennale of Sydney

Fondation Opale has worked closely with the 22nd edition of the Biennale of Sydney, NIRIN, from March 14th to November 15th, 2020. It supported several artistic projects and loaned a selection of the archives of Swiss curator Bernhard Lüthi, of which it is the depositary. This 22nd biennial is the first edition under the direction of an Aboriginal artist: Brook Andrew

More info
Houston (Texas), USA

Mapa Wiya

Menil Collection

For its first exhibition of contemporary Aboriginal art, the Menil Collection has chosen to display over 100 works from Australia’s most isolated communities, all on loan from Fondation Opale. Named “best exhibition of the year” by the Houston Chronicle, MAPA WIYA took place from September 12th, 2019 to January 26th, 2020.

More info
Vevey, Suisse

The faces behind food

Alimentarium

For the exhibition THE FACES BEHIND FOOD shown at the Alimentarium in Vevey in 2019, Fondation Opale has loaned a set of six Ghostnets works, including the work Reef for sale: going, going, gone… (2016) by Marion Gaemers, made of a rescued shopping trolley, recycled ghost nets and beach rope.

More info

Don't miss at Fondation Opale

FILM

Cher Plastique

27.07.2024, 17:00 - 18:00
"Cher plastique" (Dear plastic) takes stock of the place plastic occupies in our lives and invites us to rethink our consumption.
More info
INTERGENERATIONNAL WORKSHOP

Plasto Lemano

28.07.2024, 14:00 - 17:00
Create an existing or imaginary animal from plastic and rubbish collected on the lake's shores.
More info

CREATIVE WORKSHOP (KIDS)

04.08.2024, 10:30 - 12:00
Fondation Opale organises two creative workshops for kids per month, in relation with the exhibition ARTIST ACTIVIST ARCHIVIST!
More info
FILM

Cher Plastique

27.07.2024, 17:00 - 18:00
"Cher plastique" (Dear plastic) takes stock of the place plastic occupies in our lives and invites us to rethink our consumption.
More info
INTERGENERATIONNAL WORKSHOP

Plasto Lemano

28.07.2024, 14:00 - 17:00
Create an existing or imaginary animal from plastic and rubbish collected on the lake's shores.
More info

CREATIVE WORKSHOP (KIDS)

04.08.2024, 10:30 - 12:00
Fondation Opale organises two creative workshops for kids per month, in relation with the exhibition ARTIST ACTIVIST ARCHIVIST!
More info
See the events

Centre d’art fermé
Restaurant fermé
Marrakech, Maroc

Serpent

Musée Yves Saint Laurent

Du 21 juillet 2023 au 28 janvier 2024, le Musée Yves Saint Laurent à Marrakech a présenté l’exposition SERPENT, commissionnée par Bérengère Primat et Georges Petitjean. Cette exposition se base sur les œuvres issues de la Collection Bérengère Primat, dans lesquelles le serpent joue un rôle primordial.

Plus d’infos
Milan, Italie

Rainbow

Mudec | Museo Delle Culture

À l’occasion de l’exposition RAINBOW, présentant l’arc-en-ciel en tant que phénomène naturel, culturel, spirituel et humain au MUDEC — Museo delle Culture, la Fondation Opale a prêté l’œuvre Rainbow Serpent [Serpent arc-en-ciel], (1995) de John Mawurndjul. L’exposition s’est déroulée de février à juillet 2023.

Plus d’infos
Milan, Italie

Mirdidingkingathi Juwarnda Sally Gabori

Triennale Milano

La Fondation Cartier pour l’art contemporain a consacré une exposition à l’artiste Mirdidingkingathi Juwarnda Sally Gabori, de juillet à novembre 2022. Cette exposition a ensuite été présentée lors de la Triennale Milano, de février à mai 2023. La Fondation Opale y a prêté deux œuvres: Nyinyilki, 2010, et Dibirdibi Country (2010), issues de la Collection Bérengère Primat.

Plus d’infos
Paris, France

Mirdidingkingathi Juwarnda Sally Gabori

Fondation Cartier pour l’art contemporain

La Fondation Cartier pour l’art contemporain a consacré une exposition à l’artiste Mirdidingkingathi Juwarnda Sally Gabori, de juillet à novembre 2022. Cette exposition a ensuite été présentée lors de la Triennale Milano, de février à mai 2023. La Fondation Opale y a prêté deux œuvres: Nyinyilki, 2010, et Dibirdibi Country (2010), issues de la Collection Bérengère Primat.

Plus d’infos
Paris, France

Réclamer la terre

Palais de Tokyo

La Fondation Opale était partenaire du Palais de Tokyo pour l’exposition collective intitulée RÉCLAMER LA TERRE, présentée du 15 avril au 4 septembre 2022. Cette exposition était consacrée à une sélection d’artistes autochtones internationaux qui travaillent autrement la matière dite «naturelle».

Plus d’infos
Bruxelles, Belgique

Before Time Began

Musées royaux d’Art 
et d’Histoire de Belgique

La première exposition d’art aborigène contemporain présentée à la Fondation Opale de juin 2019 à mars 2020, BEFORE TIME BEGAN, a été exposée aux Musées royaux d’Art et d’Histoire de Belgique du 22 octobre 2021 au 29 mai 2022.

Plus d’infos
Bilbao, Espagne

Elles font l’abstraction

Guggenheim Museum

La Fondation Opale a prêté une œuvre collective monumentale au Centre Pompidou de Paris en mai 2021 pour l’exposition WOMEN IN ABSTRACTION / ELLES FONT L’ABSTRACTION qui s’est tenue du 19 mai au 23 août 2021. Elle a ensuite été présentée au Guggenheim Museum de Bilbao du 22 octobre 2021 au 27 février 2022.

Plus d’infos
Paris, France

Elles font l’abstraction

Centre Pompidou

La Fondation Opale a prêté une œuvre collective monumentale au Centre Pompidou de Paris en mai 2021 pour l’exposition WOMEN IN ABSTRACTION / ELLES FONT L’ABSTRACTION qui s’est tenue du 19 mai au 23 août 2021. Elle a ensuite été présentée au Guggenheim Museum de Bilbao du 22 octobre 2021 au 27 février 2022.

Plus d’infos
Le Havre, France

Australie le Havre

Muséum du Havre

En mai 2021, la Fondation Opale a prêté quatre œuvres en ghostnets au Muséum du Havre en Normandie pour l’exposition AUSTRALIE LE HAVRE — L’intimité d’un lien, du 5 juin au 7 novembre 2021.

Plus d’infos
Sion, Suisse

Destination collection

Musées cantonaux du Valais
À l’occasion de l’exposition DESTINATION COLLECTION présentée aux Musées cantonaux du Valais du 20 juin 2020 au 30 mai 2021, la Fondation Opale a prêté plusieurs œuvres : cinq boucliers, l’un provenant du centre de l’Australie et les quatre autres de la région linguistique Pintupi Luritja, accompagnés des commentaires de notre présidente Bérengère Primat, ainsi que la peinture de l’artiste aborigène Maringka Baker Ngura Mankurpa/Trois sites et une œuvre de Paddy Fordham Wainburranga intitulée Statue d’esprit Balangjangalang.
Plus d’infos
Sydney, Australie

Nirin

Biennale of Sydney

La Fondation Opale a collaboré étroitement avec la 22e édition de la Biennale de Sydney, NIRIN, du 14 mars au 15 novembre 2020. Elle y a soutenu plusieurs projets artistiques et prêté une sélection des archives du curateur suisse Bernhard Lüthi, dont elle est dépositaire. A noter que cette 22e Biennale est la première édition sous la direction d’un artiste aborigène: Brook Andrew.

Plus d’infos
Houston (Texas), USA

Mapa Wiya

Menil Collection

Pour sa première exposition d’art aborigène contemporain, la Menil Collection a choisi d’exposer plus de 100 œuvres d’art des communautés les plus isolées d’Australie, toutes prêtées par la Fondation Opale. Déclarée «meilleure exposition de l’année» par la Houston Chronicle, MAPA WIYA a eu lieu du 12 septembre 2019 au 26 janvier 2020.

Plus d’infos
Vevey, Suisse

L'aliment a un visage

Alimentarium

À l’occasion de l’exposition L’ALIMENT A UN VISAGE présentée à l’Alimentarium de Vevey en 2019, la Fondation Opale a prêté un ensemble de six œuvres en ghostnets (littéralement « filets fantômes »), dont l’œuvre Récif à vendre : une fois, deux fois, trois fois… adjugé ! (2016) de Marion Gaemers, composée d’un chariot de supermarché récupéré, de filets de pêche recyclés et de câbles de plage.

Plus d’infos

À ne pas manquer à la fondation

Table ronde

Visions pionnières : les curateurs qui introduisirent l’art aborigène en Europe

16.06.2024, 11:00 - 12:00
Rencontre avec quatre grands curateurs pour une discussion sur les expositions d’art aborigène en Europe.
Plus d’infos
CONCERT

Ensemble Valéik – Celtiberians

16.06.2024, 18:00 - 19:00
L'ensemble valaisan Valéik présente leur nouveau projet CELTIBERIANS : un mélange de flamenco et musique celtique.
Plus d’infos

ATELIER CRÉATIF (ENFANTS)

19.06.2024, 14:30 - 16:00
La fondation propose deux ateliers créatifs par mois pour le jeune public, en lien avec l’exposition ARTISTE ACTIVISTE ARCHIVISTE!
Plus d’infos
Table ronde

Visions pionnières : les curateurs qui introduisirent l’art aborigène en Europe

16.06.2024, 11:00 - 12:00
Rencontre avec quatre grands curateurs pour une discussion sur les expositions d’art aborigène en Europe.
Plus d’infos
CONCERT

Ensemble Valéik – Celtiberians

16.06.2024, 18:00 - 19:00
L'ensemble valaisan Valéik présente leur nouveau projet CELTIBERIANS : un mélange de flamenco et musique celtique.
Plus d’infos

ATELIER CRÉATIF (ENFANTS)

19.06.2024, 14:30 - 16:00
La fondation propose deux ateliers créatifs par mois pour le jeune public, en lien avec l’exposition ARTISTE ACTIVISTE ARCHIVISTE!
Plus d’infos
Voir l’agenda